IMG_4502

Yesterday we had the pleasure of welcoming Rebecca from Bournemouth Yoga to the Health and Fitness Society. Rebecca kindly led a 30 minute Yoga session for the group, to give us a taste of the popular, meditation focused exercise.

Before the session, I had never tried Yoga and was interested to see why so many people have adopted this ancient form of exercise.

The session began with a short relaxation which focused on breathing and control. This was followed by a few core beginner’s poses and then a short relaxation to end. I found the entire session extremely serene. Despite being inside a classroom, I was able to relax my mind and focus on my body and my breathing.

IMG_4501

Even though this was just a snippet of what yoga can do to promote physical and mental wellbeing, I’m eager to begin yoga classes on a regular basis and I would definitely recommend you try it out too.

If you missed our session with Rebecca, you can visit her website to book on to any of her classes.

-Leanne